I am settling into my job at the bar I've been working at. I've been there nearly a month. Here's what I think so far.
This job is fun but physically demanding. I enjoy the work but after a 7-8 hr shift I am wiped out. I also get a good arm workout by putting down and lifting back up the barstools at the beginning and end of a shift.
It is SUPER loud in there sometimes. A half full bar is crazy loud because the higher ups haven't yet put out sound absorbing material under the tables and on the walls or ceiling. I bought ear peace earplugs to hopefully help with it. I haven't tried them yet but I'm hoping I can still hear the drink orders. We'll see.
You meet a lot of different people. This can be good or bad. Some people are there for fun and to relax while others, I swear, are there to just be sad, grouchy or uptight.
I hate doing flights. They are a pain in my ass to serve. The only time I don't mind serving flights is if there is no one waiting behind you to order.
Parking was a pain at first but I'm now getting a good strategy going.
Late hours! and they're about to get later. On a Saturday night it was easily after 11p before we left for the night. Now we're switching to 11p closing-- ummmmm I'll have to get used to that.
I'm making more money than I thought I would. This month I will have pulled in $1000.00 between my hourly and tips. The funny thing is I didn't work more than 25 hours in a week. I think if I averaged 25-30 I could make my $1500 goal.
People are either coldly greedy when it comes to tipping or very generous. People who have a good time and feel good about their experience will easily tip 25%-- most do at least 20. Sometimes you'll get 15, and I've only had 4 customers just straight up not tip. I honestly think this is because they don't understand or couldn't see the receipt-- well, at least in 2 cases-- the other was plain up cheapness.
I'm becoming peoples' bartender. I've been there long enough that people say hi to me when they walk in and expect me. This bond I think brings better tips.
People just want your attention and if you can give it to them they tip better. $10 because I talked to you for an extra 10 minutes while I was cleaning?? Heck yea.
Hate to admit it but I upsell the shit if I can. Let's face it, this comes down to cold hard cash-- bigger bill means a bigger tip.
I really like the hustle..... to a point. A steady flow- yes---- a steady quick flow--yes-- mass chaos? No Bueno.
I forget about the time after awhile. I like that I can just get swept up in it and hours will go by before I look at the clock. Nothing worse than a day that drags.
That's it I think. Mostly positive. I'm gaining my confidence and after last Wednesdays' mass chaos night- I think I've proved I'm just as good as anyone else there.
HIGH FIVE FOR THE 40 SOMETHING GIRL!!!!
No comments:
Post a Comment