I'm here at work now. I opened the shop at noon instead of 10am because we had some icy weather last night and this morning. Starting at about 4am, my sleep was interrupted first by the trash trucks. I guess they were trying to stay ahead of the freeze. At 4:40 am I received a text from the school saying schools were closed today. Knowing this fact put my mind, mood and body into "snow day mode"-- when you want to sleep a little longer in hopes that you won't need to get up and out of the house any time soon. At 5:20 my alarm went off and I happily turned it off and settled back into a comfy warm spot sleep coming easily. At 5:35 my son asked me if school was on time where I told him no, it's canceled. He said Sweet, I'm going back to bed. I told myself I'd get up a bit after 6 so I would have plenty of time to do my chores and self care time- then I fell into a deep wonderful slumber where I always have vivid weird dreams that I can easily remember. At 6:48 I woke. I knew that we probably wouldn't be going to work on time so I laid in bed in and out of rest until 7am.
My feet finally hit the floor at 7:05- Momma kitty was loudly letting me know it was way past her breakfast time. I managed to get them fed and litter boxes changed before making some oatmeal. I kinda sat for a quiet 2-3 minutes meditation but it wasn't what I needed. Eric got up early.
Once he was up it was a back and forth as to whether we should go into work. It was pretty icey. I had actually said ok, I call it. I'm not going. He had said earlier that we shouldn't go, but me being the one that doesn't want to lose a days worth of income said he could stay home and I would go.
I'm ok with having another day alone. I need it sometimes. So at 10 after 11am I headed out. I was a bit nervous but it really was fine once I made it past a couple little slick spots in the neighborhood.
Annnnnd, here I am. 2:25pm-- I've been open now for over 2 hours, gotten all the financials and chores done--- and,
not a single person has come in yet.
I'm bummed but not surprised because on days like today, most everyone just wants to get to work and get home. They really don't have the time or energy to think about their hobbies.
A waste of time?
No. Because even if I have a zero dollar day, I will have nourished my soul. Reading, writing, chilling, enjoying some good food and awesome hot tea and enjoying some good stories.
I may even exercise a little. Moving all my joints full range of motion to prevent tightness and build strength, but that's for another day.
Until Next Time.
No comments:
Post a Comment