Wednesday, January 24, 2018

I've come to realize.

I have cut way down on using facebook.  I look at it very rarely and I only posted like 2 times last year.  I have used it to communicate with the homebrewers guild.  I have done the same with Instagram.  I rarely look at it and haven't posted in a really long time.  I'm happy with that and I don't really miss it.

I enjoy this format so I can use it as a journal.  I don't have a paper journal here so it's nice to be able to journal and show pictures of things that have happened in our lives.  I'm hoping it will be here for my family to read some day.  If not, I enjoy going back and look at days long since passed.

I'm starting to feel a pull of taking a break from youtube.  I'm starting to feel the same way about it as I felt towards facebook.  I'd go to the site watch something I think I'd enjoy but really it's nothing that interesting.  There is some good stuff on there but really few and far between.

I wonder how I would do if I stopped youtube also?  I had started becoming a bit more conscious of my use last year but it fell to the way side.  I get a little sad even thinking about reading more- it makes me tired unless it's something I'm really interested in.  I'm content with just reading at night.

I do find myself needing to "take a break" from whatever I'm doing and look at youtube- even just to see what my subs have posted.

But if I think about it, and others have pointed this out....

I'm not really living whats on the screen.  I'm sitting in an office chair, in an office, in front of a computer.  That's it.

I think I would just get soooooo bored if I didn't watch it.  I've been watching more Netflix- because some how I've decided that's better for me?!?!---- watching actual stories instead of random stuff on youtube.

Like everything else, I think it's fear based.  I would get soooooo bored.  I don't want to get sooooo bored.  I want to avoid that feeling.  I think at work or even at home- I would realize how much time I spend going straight into a screen that it would drive me nuts to have to sit here at work with nothing to do.

There's only so much sorting and cleaning and organizing you can do while at work.  I think it would be pretty easy when the guys are here with me (except when they are in their screens) but alone?  That would suck.

I guess I could do other stuff.  Like journal here.  Journal in a actual notebook.  What else though for someone who isn't talented in a lot of stuff ?  I'm good at walking outside but hello cold weather.  It's funny that I'm complaining about being bored at work.

I could listen to music on Spotify. What I'd like to do is take pictures around town.  Old houses.  I really like old houses.

I like weird stuff- get up and moving stuff.  Adventure stuff.  Which can feel pretty stifled in an office for 9 hours.

And some days I don't want to get up and move.

Maybe I do need to do this just so I can figure out what I do like to do- and figure out something that would be fun in the quiet times in the shop.

Yea.  Yea. Yes I'm going to do this.

I'll at least try.

Wish me luck.  I'll tell you how it goes.

No comments:

Post a Comment